Troop 40's
Home Page

Boy Scout Troop 40
(Rockville Centre, New York)
ScoutLander Contact Our Troop Member Login


Welcome to Troop 40!

Troop 40 is the home of the first Eagle Scout in the US. Our Troop is in the Iroquois  District within the Theodore Roosevelt Council. 

Scouting is a program of fun outdoor activities, leadership opportunities, and a personal exploration of career, hobby and special interests – all designed to strengthen character, personal fitness and good citizenship. Iroquois District is a part of Theodore Roosevelt Council, visit for more info.


Troop 40 Highlights

·Home of the first Eagle Scout in the US

·Weekly meetings in Rockville Centre

oScouts work on skills, activities and advancement

oTrained Leaders, EagleScouts, Committee Members and Parents attending

oGames including dodgeball, ultimate frisbee, football (in gym & outside field)

·Monthly camping trips with diverse activities for every interest (fun, challenging &skill building)

oOvernight in Tents, Lean-tos, Cabins – trips for all interests & skill levels

oHiking at Crystal Lake in Camp Nobebosco

oCamping at Gettysburg

oBackpacking at Harriman

oShooting sports at Ten Mile River, Onteora, Schiff

oWinter Bluenose & Ski Trip, Fall Apple Picking, Summer Kayaking

oHigh Adventure Camps: Sea Base, Jamboree, Philmont

·All faiths welcome

o   Our Troop includes scouts and families of many different religions

o   United Church in RVC is our Charter Representative

o   Service activities supporting St. Agnes, United Church, Congregation Benai Shalom-BethDavid, St. Marks, Veterans, Food Pantries and more

·Summer camp- includes 2 weeks at Onteora ScoutCamp

oMerit Badge workshops

oHiking, watersports, backpacking, skill training, leadership opportunities, and more


Scout quotes:

“We are a fun Troop with the best camping trips.”

“Our small size helps us get more focus on individuals.”

“Favorite trips: Harriman, Nobebosco & Onteora.”

Come check us out, contact us or visit any Troop meeting.

Mike O'Hare, Scoutmaster

Patti Norton, Committee Chair